Posts Tagged ‘Felicia Sams’

SEO spammers reaching my sites

Posted on Saturday, February 27th 2010 4:29 pm by menj in General, Internet

Lately, I have been getting these weird SEO spammers asking me to contact them if I wish to increase traffic to my site(s). These e-mails sure look fishy, here is one of them that I received today.

Felicia Sams wrote:
We are interested to increase traffic to your website, please get back to us in
order to discuss the possibility in further detail.

Website:
IP: 122.163.119.126

The e-mail came from seo.sales.traffic@gmail.com. Certainly does not seem to come from a reputable SEO company. So I did a search for this Gmail address and I found out that the problem was not new.

According to the site that I visited, several indicators that this e-mail is spam are:

  • The communication will normally come completely unsolicted via email or your website form
  • The sender usually uses free non-professional email address (e.g. @gmail.com)
  • They do not have their own website
  • No telephone number (or not a UK number)
  • No company name

I did one step further and made an IP lookup trace for the IP I got from that e-mail. Here was the result:

seo spammer IP SEO spammers reaching my sites

So do not reply to these types of e-mails. They want you to reply, because then they will add your e-mail to their harvest list and later spam you will all sorts of offers.

6 Comments

Get Adobe Flash playerPlugin by wpburn.com wordpress themes
Blogging For Money is part of the School of Online Media.